Hagman

“Hello there! You look a little bit lost. I got lost once. How did you find your way here, into the Asylum? They, the voices in the walls, call this place the Asylum. It’s some kind of dimensional plane outside of our own world. You can be strange and kept safe here. It’s a place of oddness, but at the same time, individuality. You can be utterly yourself here. I can be myself here. That gent over there can be himself here. Any man, woman, child, monster, devil or creature can be themselves here. I live here now you know. They call me the Hag-Man. Who knows why. They found me in the desert. I’m something of a scholar you see. I search up and down for all sorts of knowledge. Knowledge of the other side, of magic, of madness, of mystery. I like to know things you see. I’m definitely the smartest man here. They found me in the desert. I’m not mad.

I hail from Germany originally, Frankfurt I believe. However, I spent most of my life in Nevada. You see, I was a scientist once. I was something of an Egyptologist and a geologist. I know I look rather fair, but I spent a number of years in the Valley of the Dead and the Saharan Dunes before I got lost. Did I tell you I got lost once? I got lost and now I’m here.

I was testing a theory you see. I detected something of a spiritual channel sprouting out of the Egyptian tombs, out into the Sahara. I believe I called it a “Leyline” at the time. Much to the disbelief and arguments of my oafish colleagues, I followed the Leyline into the desert. Mad perhaps? Perhaps not. We’re all made here but I’m not. Not. Not. Not. Not. Not. Not. What happened? Don’t you listen? I got lost and now I’m here.

Inmates and seekers of knowledge both would do well to seek me out. Keep me interested and I’ll tell you where to find something or how to kill something or what something does. I’m definitely the most knowledgeable person in here. This Asylum has an odd effect on people within it. This place changed me, my mind has never felt so liberated. I’m quite literally a know-it-all now. Magic is straight forward now. The unknown is known to me. Monsters are childs play. Science is a breeze. Easy. Easy. Easy.

I’ll tell you what isn’t straight forward though. The purpose of this place and what it is. We’re not sealed in here, many have left the Asylum and returned to the mundane world. A separate dimension yes, but why and where? Why does this place exist? Why do the curious members of society end up here? Why do we change while within its archaic halls? I know everything obviously, but I don’t know the answers to these questions. I theorize it has something to do with the mysterious creator of this place: Big papa Harlequin. The Oldschool Harlequin they call him. I haven’t really seen this being before, but I sort of feel him nearby at all times. I don’t really know how to explain that. He’s everywhere and nowhere at the same time in this place. He never speaks to us. Silent. Silent. Silent.

Personally I like it within these halls. It’s a calm, chilled place. It’s oddly familiar, mostly resembling a typical insane asylum from the real world, yet with the most alien array of residents imaginable. I get along with the majority of other denizens, despite their eccentricities. Oh, and their inferiority of course. It feels safe here and I’ve never felt so free. I was lost and now I found myself here. I’ll tell you more about it eventually I reckon, you seem curious enough to me. I think I’m going to stay here, forever…”

The Hag-Man

Comments
  1. Osharlequin says:

    Reblogged this on WorldofHarley and commented:

    The Asylum Mythos: The Hag-Man

  2. […] you lovely people. Hopefully soon I’ll also get around to continuing with my Daetrolos and Asylum Mythos writing, if anybody reading remembers those. […]

Leave a Reply

